I have this cool app on my phone. It’s called “The Bing Top 100.” It’s pretty simple – think Pandora with all the stations being the Top 100 songs of any year – from 2009 all the way back into the 40s. Pretty cool.

I listen to “The Bing Top 100” often on my morning walks. I pick a year, and during the course of the walk, I usually hear a random 8-10 songs from that year.

Monday, I chose 1977. 1977 was a memorable year for me. It was my sophomore/junior years of high school. It was the year Aprill and I started dating. It was the year I got my driver’s license. It was the period of my life that I went from liking music to being completely obsessed by music. It was the year of release of my #1 favorite album of all – “Aja” by Steely Dan – but also the year of “Bat Out of Hell” by Meat Loaf, “Frampton Comes Alive” by Peter Frampton, “The Grand Illusion” by Styx, Foreigner’s debut, “Little Queen” by Heart, “Out of the Blue” by ELO…the list goes on. It was a great year in so many ways.

And I was immersed in music all of 1977. I listened at home in my room. I listened in my car. I listened with friends. I listened alone. I even worked in a record shop, so I listened at work (somewhat of a foreign concept in 1977).

So how is it that in 2010 when I listen to “The Bing Top 100” from 1977, I can hear songs I don’t know? Of 10 songs that passed through on my walk on Monday, I had never heard five of them. Five out of ten, from 1977. I don’t get it. Don’t even bother posting “there goes your memory, old man” because it will prove you do not know me at all. I may not remember that 10 minutes ago I said, “let’s meet in 10 minutes” – but I don’t forget music. I have a tough time quoting scripture – but I can sing you every line of “Baby, I Love Your Way.”

It just puzzles me that, in what I would call the year of my musical awakening, I can go 5 for 10 on “The Bing Top 100.” I may have to schedule a day soon and listen to the entire 100 and just see what the final tally is. I have to believe I just got a bad draw.

Leave a Reply

