One of the stories that I remember most from the Vacation Bible Schools of my youth is the story of Naaman. You can read the entire story here. It’s a really good story.

For those in a hurry, Naaman was a commander in the Syrian army who had leprosy. He went to Elisha the prophet asking to be healed. Elisha told him to dip 7 times in the Jordan River and he would be healed. Naaman got mad, thinking that what Elisha had told him to do was beneath him. He decided to go home and ignore what Elisha told him to do.

As a kid, I never remember getting past the “‘dip 7 times in the Jordan River’ and he was healed” part of the story.

But here’s a part of the story that jumped out at me as I reread it recently for the first time in a long time:

“Naaman’s servants went to him and said, “My father, if the prophet had told you to do some great thing, would you not have done it? How much more, then, when he tells you, ‘Wash and be cleansed’!”

It’s another in a long line of things that have happened to me lately that has made me ask the question, “am I just making it hard?” I wonder sometimes. I have all of these ideas – great things I want to accomplish in the name of God. But is He asking me for simpler sacrifices that are not necessarily easier, but in some way, more meaningful to Him than all of my executions and gyrations?

Hard to say. But it has me thinking.

Leave a Reply

